No icon

Eagle Scouts during a special ceremony at Lowell United Methodist Church

Four young Lowellians, Brecken Pawloski, Jared Williams, Peter Williams and Hayden Stickney, became Eagle Scouts during a special ceremony at Lowell United Methodist Church, 621 E. Main on Saturday, May 18.

“In just a few short years, the Scouts undergo a miraculous transformation from someone who struggles to memorize the Scout oath and law to someone who lives those words,” said assistant scoutmaster Riley Perrone. “[They change from] someone who can camp out on a couple warm summer nights to someone who has mastered camping in all four seasons.”

The ceremony was called the Eagle Scout Court of Honor, it included speeches from 1999 and 1971 Eagle Scouts, remarks from Saranac village president Sharon Darby, an award from the Sons of the American Revolution, special recognition for the parents of the new Eagle Scouts and a brief statement from state senator Winnie Brinks. Darby awarded the Eagle Scouts with individual proclamations from the village and Brinks presented the young men with signed proclamations from Governor Gretchen Whitmer.

“This proclamation is in recognition of all of their hard effort in achieving this highest honor,” Darby said.

“It is with great honor today that I am here on behalf of the State of Michigan to present these four young men with a special tribute from the State of Michigan,” Brinks said.

In order to become an Eagle Scout, a young person must be between the ages of 16 and 18, have earned a minimum of 21 merit badges, must “demonstrate Scout spirit” and must lead their own service project. The list of notable Eagle Scouts since the program's inception in 1911 includes hundreds of successful politicians, astronauts, scientists, entertainers, authors, journalists, inventors, athletes, soldiers, businessmen and even a former President of the United States (Gerald R. Ford). Only about four percent of those who join the Boy Scouts in their youth ever attain the rank of an Eagle Scout.



Lowell's four new Eagle Scouts: Brecken Pawloski, Jared Williams, Peter Williams and Hayden Stickney.

State senator Winnie Brinks presented the four new Eagle Scouts with proclamations signed by Gov. Gretchen Whitmer.

Comment As:

Comment (0)